Applicants are subject to continuing education (CE) requirements and must submit the Continuing Education Report Form for any credit hours claimed for a class taken prior to January 1st, 2014. Credit hours earned after January 1st, 2014 must be submitted directly to the division by the CE provider. CE is not required for limited lines licensees (credit, travel, title, portable electronics, bail bond), persons holding a temporary license or individuals who have not been licensed for at least twenty-four (24) months.
Alaska will allow reinstatement of a license if:
- License status is not active.
- Expiration date is greater than one (1) day and up to seven hundred and thirty (730) days.
- Reinstatement due to a lapse/expiration for nonpayment of renewal fees will result in late penalty fees of $100.00 if one (1) to sixty (60) days late; and $200.00 over sixty-one (61) days late in addition to renewal fee.
- Licenses will be issued with an expiration date determined by date of birth:
- If applicant was born in an even numbered year, the license will expire on applicant's birthday in an even numbered year.
- If applicant was born in an odd numbered year, the license will expire on applicant's birthday in an odd numbered years.
Applicant must provide a valid business fax number and email address.
All submitted phone numbers must be exactly 10 digits.
Any changes to the lines of the authority (LOAs) on the license being renewed must be made directly with the state division of insurance.
Applicants must renew all LOAs appearing as active on Producer Database (PDB) associated with applicant license class.
Variable annuities or variable life applicants must hold active life LOA before renewing.
Applicants applying for viatical settlement representative, broker or provider license must hold an active insurance producer license for life, variable annuity and variable life.
Applicant renewing surplus lines broker must hold active insurance producer license with property and casualty LOAs prior to applying for surplus lines broker renewal.
A licensee holding a limited or title license class / LOA combination may not be licensed for any other license class / lines.
If applicant responds "yes" to one of the background questions please submit supporting documents electronically via NIPR's Attachments Warehouse. The documents may also be submitted to the state via mail, email, or fax.
Applications not completed within four (4) months from the date filed will be considered withdrawn and new application forms and fees will be required pursuant to Alaska Statute 21.27.020(f).
Please Note: If licensee identifies that administrative action has been taken that has not been previously reported to this state or the licensee has had a criminal conviction or been charged with a crime, a statement of the circumstances and copies of the court documents must be filed for review. Administrative actions require the licensee to submit copies of the action or file the information through NIPR.com (warehouse of actions) for staff review and approval.