home about NIPR search contacts/help top header photo
header logo bottom header photo
state-specific information tennessee
This page provides state-specific checklists, application forms and contacts for paper resident and non-resident licensing in the State of Tennessee.
non-resident licensing checklist for business entities
Other Requirements
 

$50.00 filing fee (non-resident business entity may have a reta fee.) The business entity must have a licensed TN producer

Back to Top
non-resident licensing checklist for individuals
Appointment Requirements
 
 
TCA 56-6-115 -Insurers must file appointment form IN-1175 (obtain from Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance) or file electronically within 15 days from contract date. Agent may begin work when contract/agreement is entered into.
Termination Requirements
 
TCA 56-6-117 - Any insurer that terminates an agency contract/agreement (appointment) with an insurance producer or limited insurance producer shall within thirty (30) days, notify the commissioner on Termination Form or submit electronically. 
Financial Responsibility
 
No Bond is required.
Other Requirements
 
Question on application pertaining to convictions - TN requires copies of court records and statement from applicant. Questions pertaining to convictions also on agent renewal forms.
 

Initial application filing fee of $50.00. License renewal fee of $60.00 for 2 year license for insurance producers and $30.00 for limited insurance producers. If renewal not received by the department by license expiration date, penalty is double the renewal fee.

All fees are subject to retaliatory for non-residents.

 

License renewal fee of $60.00 for two year license for insurance producers and $30.00 for two year license for limited insurance producers

Variable Contracts
 
Departmental Rule 0780-1-17.09 - Applicant shall be duly licensed for Life in TN before applying for Variable Contracts. Requirements: Applications, $50.00 filing fee.
Back to Top
resident licensing checklist for business entities
Other Requirements
 
$50.00 filing fee (non-resident business entity may have a reta fee.) Non-residents file current home state certification. The business entity must have a licensed TN producer
Back to Top
resident licensing checklist for individuals
Appointment Requirements
 
 
TCA 56-6-115 -Insurers must file appointment form IN-1175 (obtain from Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance) or file electronically within 15 days from contract date. Agent may begin work when contract/agreement is entered into.
Termination Requirements
 
 
TCA 56-6-117 - Any insurer that terminates an agency contract/agreement (appointment) with an insurance producer or limited insurance producer shall within thirty (30) days, notify the commissioner on Termination Form or submit electronically. 
Financial Responsibility
 
 
No Bond is required.
Other Requirements
 
Question on application pertaining to convictions - TN requires copies of court records and statement from applicant. Questions pertaining to convictions also on agent renewal forms.
 
Initial application filing fee of $50.00. Two year renewal - $60.00 fee for insurance producers, $30.00 fee for limited insurance producers every two years

All fees are subject to retaliatory for non-residents.
Variable Contracts
 
Departmental Rule 0780-1-17.09 - Applicant shall be duly licensed for Life in TN before applying for Variable Contracts. Requirements: Applications, $50.00 filing fee.
Back to Top

DISCLAIMER

The National Insurance Producer Registry ("NIPR") populates the State Matrix of Business Rules ("State Matrix") with information provided directly from participating state insurance departments. Participating states are encouraged to provide updated information when appropriate. NIPR does not guarantee the completeness, accuracy or adequacy of the information in the State Matrix. The information in the State Matrix does not constitute legal advice and use of this information is at user's own risk and responsibility. Any questions regarding the interpretation of the rules or the accuracy of the information should be directed to the appropriate state insurance department.

Uniform Application for Business Entities
[PDF] [Word]
Uniform Application for Individuals
[PDF] [Word]
non-resident licensing
Click here to apply for a non-resident license electronically.
Tennessee accepts the Uniform Licensing Application for nonresident business entities and individuals.
Business Checklist
Individual Checklist
resident licensing
Tennessee accepts the Uniform Licensing Application for resident business entities and individuals.
Business Checklist
Individual Checklist
contact information
Tennessee Web Site
Mail Applications to:
Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance
Agent Licensing Section
500 James Robertson Pkwy
Nashville, TN 37243-1134

Non-Resident Contacts

Business and Individual
Agent Licensing Section
615-741-2693
615-532-2862 (fax)

Resident Contacts

Business and Individual
Agent Licensing Section
615-741-2693
615-532-2862 (fax)

 
[ Home | NAIC Web Site | About NIPR | Contact Us | Search | Help | Privacy Statement ]
Copyright 1996 - 2014 National Insurance Producer Registry